Hardy County Schools Closed, Governor Mandates Masks

Hardy County Schools has suspended in-person instruction beginning on Monday, Nov. 16. In-person instruction will not resume until Monday, Dec. 7.

Students will work remotely from Monday, Nov. 16 through Friday, Nov. 20. Schools were closed for Thanksgiving Break from Monday, Nov. 23 though Friday, Nov. 27.

Students will work remotely from Monday, Nov. 30 through Friday, Dec. 4.

Through several executive orders, West Virginia Governor Jim Justice mandated face coverings at all times when indoors in public buildings, postponed all winter sports until Jan. 11, 2021 and closed schools in all 55 counties from Thursday, Nov. 26 through Wednesday, Dec. 2.

The executive orders were effective at midnight on Friday, Nov. 13.

In his press briefing on Friday, Justice ordered businesses to post signs that masks are required to enter.

“If someone refuses, call the police,” he said. “They are guilty of obstructing justice.”

Justice said businesses that do not comply face similar obstruction of justice charges.

The governor also ordered all winter sports postponed until Monday, Jan. 11, 2021.

“We can finish fall sports, but if you started practicing for winter sports, it’s over,” he said.

Schools in all 55 West Virginia counties will close after Thanksgiving on Nov. 26 and not reopen until Thursday, Dec. 3.

“We know that families will come together and we all know the probability of spread is at our fingertips,” he said. “This will give us the seven-day window our medical experts tell us will help us.”

Justice also cancelled all concert band festivals and all band festivals, “at the recommendation of the Band Masters.”

As of Friday, Nov. 13, Hardy County has reported a cumulative total of 154 positive cases. Of those 39 are active, 3 are hospitalized and 114 have recovered. There has been one death in the county.

For comparison, on Friday, Nov. 6, there were 121 cumulative positive cases, 14 active cases and one hospitalized. There were 106 recovered cases on that date.