Moorefield Track Preview

As of press time, high school springs sports events and practices had been postponed until April 10. That announcement came as the finishing touches were being put on the Spring Sports preview. We have decided publish these previews in order to highlight Hardy County’s high school athletes, should no opportunity exist later.

Moorefield Track and Field has a plethora of talented athletes hitting the asphalt, fields and sand with a powerful sting to swarm to the state track meet in Charleston after the pandemic ceases and six have state experience from last season to guide the way back.

Moorefield Girls Track coach is Vivian Carr and the Moorefield Boys Track coach is Linda Wright.

Moorefield Girls Track have two returning with state meet experience as senior Sydney Gribble (shuttle hurdles) and sophomore Taylor Harvey (100, 200) are paving the path.

Moorefield Boys Track athletes with state meet experience are seniors Jackson Weese (4×100, three-time qualifier), Paxton Coby (4×100, two-time qualifier), Seth Wilson (shot put), Riley Hedrick (discus) and sophomore Dylan Strawderman (4×100).

Yellow Jackets senior Matthew Weatherholt (4×800) was a state qualifier two years ago, so that experience will be useful in directing the team as well.

“My guys have just one goal to medal at the state meet this year. They are working hard to make that happen. This is my first year coaching, so I am letting my senior boys be the leaders,” Moorefield Boys Track coach Linda Wright said.

Moorefield Boys Track and Field competitors this season are: Paxton Coby, senior sprinter co-captain and captain of the hurdlers; Jackson Weese, senior sprinter; Riley Hedrick, senior thrower co-captain; Shenandoah University commit and senior thrower co-captain Seth Wilson; Matt Weatherholt, senior thrower; Rodney Wratchford, senior long jumper; Aidan Richardson, senior thrower; Jason Kenyon, first-year senior sprinter; juniors – Skyler Ratcliff, David Myers, Russell Coon, Kobey Wymer, Dequavious Kornegay; sophomores – Malachi Zirk, Dean Keplinger, Jaxen Ratcliff, Mason Ratcliff, Dylan Strawderman, Levi Thompson; freshmen – Ryan Mongold, J.J. Carr, Kelton Barb, Layne Spitzer, Cameron Newhouse, Finan Grmay, Felix Soto, Micah Shirk, Levi Howard, Tyler Kessel and Finan Teklom.

You need to be logged in to see this part of the content. Please Login to access. Or become a member.
Annual Member - 30.00 USD per 1 year - for 1 time.
Annual Member subscription
Monthly Member - 4.00 USD per 1 month - for 1 time.
Monthly Member subscription
3-Day Access - 1.00 USD per 3 days - for 1 time.
3 Day Access subscription
The Potomac Valley Conference Track Championship is at Keyser on May 6 and the Region II Championship will be on May 14 with the State Meet set for May 22-23 with all of this pending due to the coronavirus shutdown.